Celebrating the Stars of Business in Cherwell District

May 15th 2018

Business leaders in Cherwell district have been celebrating local success following the Cherwell Business Awards Gala Dinner, which was held at Heythrop Park on Friday 11th May.

The event saw more than 250 guests come together to celebrate the best and brightest of the business community within the Cherwell District, recognising the hard work, success and entrepreneurship of those operating across the region.

Councillor Lynn Pratt of Cherwell District Council – the headline sponsor of the awards – opened the evening’s proceedings, while Kirsty Leahy of Banbury Sound hosted the ceremony for the third year running.

With 9 award categories, and 24 finalists, the awards celebrated a broad cross section of the business community.  Over the years the Cherwell Business Awards has created many winners and this can often be a springboard to future success, as well a celebration of the hard work and accomplishments of those winners.

During the evening guests enjoyed a drinks reception and 3-course dinner, while being entertained by a magician throughout, with a DJ and photo-booth providing further entertainment. A fundraising raffle was also held, using prizes that had been generously donated by sponsors and supporters, which raised over £1,600 for the winner of the 2018 Charity & Community Award – Second Time Round.

All 24 finalists were commended before each of the category sponsors announced the winner and presented their elegant, engraved glass trophies and framed certificates.

The winners of the 2018 Cherwell Business Awards are:

A2Dominion Group – New Business Award

Ethos Technology Ltd

Begbroke Science Park – Innovation Award

Blue Planet IT Ltd

Bicester Vision, Bicester Chamber, Wednesday Business Club – Micro Business Award

EYA Design Ltd

Bicester Village – Charity and Community Award

Second Time Around

Ellacotts – Business Person of the Year Award

Sarka Sara Wilde – Distinct Estate Agents

The Oxford Innovation – Young Business Person of the Year Award

Scott MacDonald – Sandy Leaf Farm Ltd

NatWest – Small Business Award

High Spec Composites Ltd

Spratt Endicott – Established Business Award

Whitley Stimpson Ltd

The Overall Cherwell Winner Award 2018, sponsored by Norbar Torque Tools and selected from amongst the finalists was awarded to Whitley Stimpson Ltd.

Jonathan Walton, Managing Director of Whitley Stimpson commented on winning both the Established Business and Overall Cherwell Winner Award: “Whitley Stimpson is recognised by national industry awards but to be acknowledged as a top company within the district is the icing on the cake.  Our head office has been based in Cherwell for over 87 years and has grown to provide accountancy and business advice services across offices in Banbury, Bicester, High Wycombe and Witney.

“We are delighted to have won both the Established Business and Overall Cherwell Winner award which is testament to the success of our excellent team of professionals and support staff who provide outstanding levels of service to our clients. We are committed to doing business in Cherwell and beyond.”

Congratulations to all the winners and a huge thank you to all the sponsors and supporters of this year’s event.  The awards team will now start preparing for 2019, and if you would like to be involved in next year’s event, then please contact Placi Espejo or Jane Ward by email: admin@cherwellbusinessawards.co.uk